United Way welcomes new board members

By John Bailey



Preparing to take on the challenges of a new year, the Catawba County United Way welcomed five new faces on its Board of Directors in December.

They included Bradley Fowler from Catawba County Government, Honey Estrada from Catawba County Health, Kenneth Temple from Corning, Andrea Thompson from Catawba County Schools and Kimberly Whitley from Patrick Harper & Dixon, LLP. 

new board

“It’s an outstanding group of community leaders, and we’re very thankful they would agree to support the community through their service on the Catawba County United Way board, especially during a time that’s been so challenging because of the current pandemic,” CCUW Executive Director Jennie Connor said.

The CCUW Board of Directors is the policy-making arm of the organization. It formulates policies, oversees the management of the organization, approves the annual budget, and establishes and oversees the guidelines for annual grant funding.

This new group fills out a list of 25 other local community leaders who make up this year’s CCUW Board of Directors.

The board officers for 2021 include Amy Guyer from RHF/Century as President, Eddie Beard from Catawba Valley Health System as Vice President, Patrick Underdown from HSM as Treasurer, Johann Louchez from BB&T/Truist as Campaign Chair and past president Keith Mackie, retired from Catawba Valley Community College.

Outgoing board members included Mike Ellwanger from Corning, Alan Fisher from McCreary Modern, Chris Gibbs from Catawba County Schools, Richard Sigmon from Alex Lee Inc., Rick Nichols from Lenoir-Rhyne University and Henry Morphis from Morphis Law & Mediation.

The CCUW staff thanks all past and present Board of Director members for their dedication to the United Way’s mission of increasing the organized capacity of people to help others.

To learn more about the Catawba County United Way or how you can help with the CCUW’s mission, visit ccunitedway.com or call 828-327-6851.